Champion of Canadian visual arts for 20 years, the Sobey Art Prize announces the list of 25 nominated artists


OTTAWA (ON), May 3, 2022 /CNW/ – The Sobey Art Foundation and the National Gallery of Canada announced today the twenty-five shortlisted artists for the 2022 Sobey Art Award (AAS). Globally recognized as one of the world’s most generous prizes for contemporary visual artists, the SobeyArt The prize is a catalyst for the careers and work of Canadian visual artists of all ages through financial support, an exhibition highlighting the practices of the five shortlisted artists, and national and international recognition.

“On behalf of the Sobey Art Foundation, we are proud to champion the twenty-five shortlisted visual artists nominated for the 2022 Sobey Art Award in its 20and anniversary year,” said Rob SobeyPresident, Sobey Art Foundation. “Thank you to the jury and our presenting partner, the National Gallery of Canada. Together, we look forward to seeing more of these exceptional artists, and we are grateful to all the nominators who submitted nominations for this year’s award on behalf of talented artists everywhere. Canada. “

“The SobeyArt highlights the importance of contemporary art in Canadian society in general,” said Dr Sasha Suda, Director and CEO of the National Gallery of Canada. “As jury president, I was delighted to see so many brave and exciting artists nominated. Narrowing the list down to a long list was hard work, and I am extremely grateful to the jurors who had the great task of make this selection. The 2022 Sobey Art Award invites us to celebrate what contemporary artists contribute Canada today, while giving us optimism for tomorrow.”

The 25 visual artists shortlisted for the 2022 Sobey Art Award from the five regions of Canada are:


Tanya Bussé
Hannah Epstein
Letitia Fraser
Michelle Syllboy
Tyshan Wright


Stanley February
Catherine Melancon
Michaëlle Sergile
Joshua Schwebel
Nicholas Williams


Ghazaleh Avarzamani
Stephanie Temma Yesterday
Timothy Yanick Hunter
Laurie Kang
Azza El Siddique

Prairies and North:

Catherine Boyer
Anna Binta Diallo
Anna Hawkin
Collective tīná gúyáńí (Deer Road)
Divya Mehra

Western coast & yukon:

Derya Akay
Rydel Cerezo
Karine Jones
Krystle Silver Fox
Manuel Axel Strain

Founded in 2002, the SobeyArt The prize is funded by the Sobey Art Foundation and organized and presented by the National Gallery of Canada. The award propels artists’ careers through financial support and recognition in Canada and beyond.

The 2022 price structure is as follows:

  • $100,000 to the big winner
  • $25,000 to each of the other four shortlisted finalists
  • $10,000 to each of the 20 shortlisted finalists

An independent jury made up of curators from five regions (Atlantic Canada, Quebec, Ontariothe Prairies and the North, and the West Coast and yukon), along with an international juror, oversaw the shortlist selection process and will continue to participate in the remaining rounds of deliberation.

Celebrates 20 yearsand anniversary year of defending Canadian artists, the SobeyArt The award shines a spotlight on contemporary artists across the country. Sobey Award winners over the past 20 years of the award include Brian Jungen (2002), Annie Pootoogook (2006), Nadia Myre (2014), Ursula Johnson (2017), Kipwani Kiwanga (2018), Stephanie Comilang (2019) and last year’s winner Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory (2021).

For more information, including biographies of the 2022 shortlisted artists, please visit the National Gallery of Canada link here:

SOURCE National Gallery of Canada

For further information: For media inquiries, please contact: Josée-Britanie Mallet, Senior Officer, Media and Public Relations, National Gallery of Canada, [email protected]; Denise Siele, Senior Manager, Communications, National Gallery of Canada, [email protected]; Bernard Doucet, Executive Director, The Sobey Art Foundation, [email protected]


Comments are closed.